Tundran: Looking deeper into the Fur

image

A tiger, a little mix of snow leopard and a whole vial of crazy and fun. That may be the best way to describe the neon green and black cat that stands before you.

image

Tundran is a character that was borne from my love of cats, wild colour schemes and a liberal mix of my own personality; as is of course to be expected from my main “fursona”. If you were to extract the essence of me and amp it up several times you’d likely get very close to a reflection of the character. Unlike my other character Riot, he is me to a tee.
image

I have owned the Tundran for about a year and a half now since I entered the community and commissioned the suit soon after joining, receiving him around July 2014. Since then, he has travelled extensively, coming with me to conventions in Brisbane (Rivfur 2014), the Gold Coast (Furdu 2015), Melbourne (Confurgence 2015), Canberra (CBRFUR6) and a jaunt down to Sydney. Being my main suit means that he is first in line to experience new conventions and suiting opportunities with me and if I need to decide between the suits I’ll be taking him as was a decision I needed to make when choosing who was going to be making the huge trip with me over to Midwest Furfest in Chicago, Illinois in December 2015.
image

Along with the suit, as of August 2015, I also had a commission completed of a full sized plush of him made my the same maker who made my suit originally to ensure accuracy of colour and patterning. He has affectionately been dubbed “Mini T”.
image

Unlike a fair few other fursonas out there, Tundran has a detailed and very unique backstory that I wrote over the course of several weeks in 3 seperate chapters (which can be found at http://www.furaffinity.net/user/tundran/) that details his traumatic early life and adolescence. It details his parents and the way he came about getting his distinctive neon colouring and the explanation and details into his ideals, who he is and why he is. If you can take the time and are interested in finding out more about Tundran on a personal level, it’s worth the read.
image

In future blog posts I will detail my other characters, including letting you into the realm of Riot – the angry and devious Angler Fish “Chaos Critter” and into the shiny, eye-searing den of my third character – a very specific side of me to be revealed at a later date.

As always, Tundran will be running out and about around Brisbane, the various states of Australia and soon internationally. If you see him, he’s always up for a hug and to play around. Don’t be shy! He’s not!

Leave a comment